From elections to coronavirus: Factors that have affected IPL in its 13-year-old historical past


Get real time updates directly on you device, subscribe now.


BCCI on Friday postponed IPL 2020 because of coronavirus pandemic which has shook the world and affected numerous sporting events.

IPL 2009 was held in South Africa because of the General elections in India (Reauters Image)


  • Start of IPL 2020 was pushed to April 15 by BCCI on Friday
  • The decision comes in the wake of growing threat of coronavirus in the country
  • In the past, IPL had to be shited outside India during the 2009 and 2014 general elections

With the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) suspending the Indian Premier League (IPL) 2020 till 15th April 2020, as a precautionary measure against the ongoing novel coronavirus (Covid-19) pandemic, the decision marks only the 3rd time when the popular tournament has been effected due to external events.

IPL 2020 was originally slated to start from March 29 and continue till May 24 but the fate of the tournament now lies in the dark as the coronavirus pandemic continues to rise within the country.

The deadly virus that originated in the Chinese city of Wuhan in December last year has claimed over 4,900 lives and infected more than 124,330 people worldwide. India on Thursday reported its first novel Covid-19 fatality after a 76-year-old man who died two days ago was tested positive. The number of confirmed coronavirus cases in the country soared to 75 on Friday.

As we continue to track the developments surrounding the IPL 2020 and the coronavirus outbreak, here is a look at the past instances when the tournament has had to undergo changes in the schedule/venue owing to factors not in the BCCI’s control:


The 2nd edition of IPL was entirely played in South Africa because of the Lok Sabha general elections which were also going to clash with the marquee event. With 2 mega events planned in the same window, the unavailability of security forces in the country forced the BCCI to shift the entire tournament out of India and in to South Africa. Still, the tournament proved to be a huge success after you discount the bizarre seven-and-a-half-minute television timeout which was introduced in the IPL for the first time. The now-defunct franchise Deccan Chargers won their maiden IPL title under the leadership of Adam Gilchrist beating Royal Challengers Bangalore by 6 runs in a pulsating final.


The general elections once again proved to be the IPL’s bane as a part of the tournament was held in the United Arab Emirates (UAE). Held from April 16, 2014 to June 1, 2014, the 1st 20 matches of the 7th season of the IPL were held different stadiums in Abu Dhabi, Dubai and Sharjah with the tournament returning to India on May 2.

As it was 5 years ago, this time too, the main reason for the venue shift was the clash with the general elections in the country. In the final played in Bangalore, Kolkata Knight Riders won the trophy by chasing down Kings XI Punjab’s target of 200 with relative ease. India Test wicketkeeper Wriddhiman Saha, who scored a thrilling 115* off 55 balls in the title-clash, also became the 1st player to score a century in an IPL final.

For sports news, updates, live scores and cricket fixtures, log on to Like us on Facebook or follow us on Twitter for Sports news, scores and updates.
Get real-time alerts and all the news on your phone with the all-new India Today app. Download from

  • Andriod App
  • IOS App


Source link

Get real time updates directly on you device, subscribe now.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More